https://figure.unibo.it/issue/feed Figure 2019-11-04T11:00:09+01:00 Chiara Tartarini chiara.tartarini@unibo.it Open Journal Systems <p><strong>Figure</strong> publishes articles on arts from historical, critical, theoretical and methodological perspectives</p> https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9932 A new introduction to the artist Pier Francesco Cavazza (1677-1733) 2019-11-04T10:59:59+01:00 Tiziana Borea tiziana.borea@studio.unibo.it <p>The article represents a first step to cast new light on such a controversial and eclectic figure as Pier Francesco Cavazza (1677- 1733) who lived and worked in his historical and cultural context as a real protagonist and then was quickly forgotten. As well as a print collector – an activity for which he is most frequently mentioned – he was also a painter: in particular, this text takes into consideration his copy of <em>Pallione della Peste</em> by Guido Reni and his two original artworks which have come to our days.</p> 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Tiziana Borea https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9933 Project Unité in Firminy. Art in the Urban and Architectural Device 2019-11-04T11:00:00+01:00 Lara De Lena lara.delena@unibo.it <p>“Project Unité” is an exhibition held in the summer of 1993 in the south of France in one of the most representative buildings of the last period of Le Corbusier, the housing complex of Firminy-Vert. It is the first attempt to bring together artists of different generations, backgrounds and education, united by the inclination towards participatory art practices of social interest.</p><p> </p> 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Lara De Lena https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9934 The museum as "weapon". Some considerations on Meschac Gaba’s Museum of Contemporary African Art 2019-11-04T11:00:01+01:00 Domenico Esposito domenico.esposito@studio.unibo.it <p>The article explores some aspects of the in progress and itinerant artwork of the Beninese artist Meschac Gaba <em>Museum of Contemporary African Art</em> (1997-2002), revisiting the genesis, development and critical reception, until its problematic entrance, in 2013, in the Tate’s art collection.</p> 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Domenico Esposito https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9935 Fortune of Orpheus myth in Florence between the 16th and the 17th centuries 2019-11-04T11:00:01+01:00 Cristina Lopresti cristina.lopresti@studio.unibo.it <p>The paper analyses the reception of the Orpheus’ myth in Florence between the 16th and the 17th centuries, through public and private commissions that give evidence of its vitality, its symbolic value and its originality: a victorious hero for Rinuccini; a sign of Jacopo Corsi’s wealth and of the proximity to the Medici of the sponsor of Francqueville; a simple supporting role, in 1608, in Cosimo II wedding celebrations.</p> 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Cristina Lopresti https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9936 Joaquín Inza: honorary academic at the Accademia Clementina 2019-11-04T11:00:02+01:00 Nadia Nached Prieto nadia.nachedprieto@studio.unibo.it <p>The study investigates the spanish painter Joaquín Inza (1736-1811), portraitist of Charles III, and pay special attention to his short-term italian stay towards the end of 1778. This stay is witnessed by two unpublished documents. The first consists in a piece of news published in the <em>Gazzetta di Parma</em> on 28 February 1779. Conversely, the second is his appointment as an honorary academic at the <em>Accademia Clementina</em> in Bologna. To these documents must be added the discovery of a portrait of Charles III preserved at the <em>Real Collegio di Spagna</em> in Bologna. The portrait, always kept in the College, since the time of his commission, represents an important figurative testimony of this painter’s italian passage, so far devoid of known pictorial documents.</p> 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Nadia Nached Prieto https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9937 Losing, looking for and finding each other again. The visual diary of Anna Di Prospero between reality and immaginary 2019-11-04T11:00:03+01:00 Ilaria Schipani ilaria.schipani@studio.unibo.it <span class="Carpredefinitoparagrafo1"><span lang="EN-GB">Losing, looking for and finding each other again through the photographic objective, recalling familiar and foreign places and relationships, unconscious and secret imaginary: this is the <em>fil rouge</em> of the self-portraits of Anna Di Prospero, whose photographic production has been analyzed in the "thesis of Specialization" from which this article is taken.</span></span> 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Ilaria Schipani https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9938 Reimagining the Museum: experimental practices in digital media in the years 2010-2015 2019-11-04T11:00:04+01:00 Francesca Sinigaglia sinigaglia.f@gmail.com The web 2.0 and the new IT and communication technologies can, and are already integrated in museums. These technologies renew interaction and offer new opportunities for the development and the customization of the experience inside and outside the museum. The examples displayed in this paper show how new technologies amplify and diversify the public audience, at times even improving the quality of their experience. The aim is to bring the user closer to the historical and artistic evidence of our past and our present in the web 2.0 era while creating a cultural consciousness. The unlimited connectivity of new devices can effectively facilitate full accessibility of the contents in our hyper-connected society. 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Francesca Sinigaglia https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9939 Raffaele Belluzzi’s first photographic album. First studies: competitions and public collections 2019-11-04T11:00:04+01:00 Isabella Stancari isabella.stancari@studio.unibo.it <p>The first of three photographic albums left by Raffaele Belluzzi (1839-1903) to the Museum of Italian Risorgimento in Bologna – <em>The art in Bologna in the second half of the 19th century. Photos collected by Raffaele Belluzzi (Part 1 - Painting.)</em> – even if it is often mentioned as a source, was never neither published nor studied in its entirety. This article wants to highlight some peculiar aspects of this legacy, analyzing a first group of works presented in academic and municipal competitions, or in events promoted by private cultural associations, and still in possession of public institutions.</p> 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Isabella Stancari https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9940 Carla Cerati’s photographic essays 2019-11-04T11:00:06+01:00 Claudia Stritof claudia.stritof@studio.unibo.it <p>This paper aims to focus on the early years of Cerati’s career as a freelance photographer. The time span taken into consideration goes from 1962 to 1974, a decade during which the photographer portrayed with her camera the important economical, social and cultural changes occurred in a crucial moment for Italian political history.</p> 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Claudia Stritof https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9941 A case study of public art: Flavio Favelli and the wall painting Luigi Marulla in Cosenza 2019-11-04T11:00:08+01:00 Valentina Elvira Tebala valentinael.tebala@studio.unibo.it <p>The wall painting created by the artist Flavio Favelli in 2015 in the city center of Cosenza dedicated to the prematurely died footballer, Luigi Marulla, represents an emblematic case study through which it is possible to reflect on the complicated and sensitive subjects that art involves for and in the public space.</p> 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Valentina Elvira Tebala https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9942 Facing Botticelli: three studies on the significant detail 2019-11-04T11:00:08+01:00 Marzia Faietti marzia.faietti@unibo.it Tiziana Borea tiziana.borea@studio.unibo.it Amalda Ciani Cuka amalda.cuka@studio.unibo.it Valentina Saetti valentina.saetti@studio.unibo.it <p>These texts are the results of a seminar organised and coordinated by Marzia Faietti at Gallerie degli Uffizi (a.a. 2016-2017). During these lectures, particular attention was payed to meaningful details in some famous Botticelli’s paintings. Valentina Saetti’s text analyses <em>Madonna of the Magnificat</em>, Amalda Ciani Cuka’s <em>St.Augustin in his study</em> and Tiziana Borea’s the<em> Calumny of Apelles</em>.</p> 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Marzia Faietti, Tiziana Borea, Amalda Ciani Cuka, Valentina Saetti https://figure.unibo.it/article/view/9943 From private collections to public institutions 2019-11-04T11:00:09+01:00 Marinella Pigozzi marinella.pigozzi@unibo.it Chiara Tartarini chiara.tartarini@unibo.it Alex Barbanti alex.barbanti2@studio.unibo.it Giulia Calì giulia.cali2@studio.unibo.it Ilenia Carrozza ilenia.carozza@studio.unibo.it Ilaria Chia ilaria.chia@studio.unibo.it Laura Coppa laura.coppa@studio.unibo.it Annapaola Di Maio annapaola.dimaio@studio.unibo.it Cristina Elia cristina.elia2@studio.unibo.it Chiara Forconi chiara.forconi@studio.unibo.it Federica Gamba federica.gamba@studio.unibo.it Alessandra Lisbona alessandra.lisbona@studio.unibo.it Marida Mariano marida.mariano@studio.unibo.it Serena Mauro serena.mauro@studio.unibo.it Francesca Passerini francesca.passerini@studio.unibo.it Guicciardo Sassoli de' Bianchi Strozzi debianchi.sassoli@studio.unibo.it Ilaria Siboni ilaria.siboni@studio.unibo.it Sara Zugni sara.zugni@studio.unibo.it These texts are the result of <em>Museology and collection studies</em> course held by Marinella Pigozzi (a.a. 2017-18). They are about artworks from different collections, and proof the diversity of history of collecting approaches and sources. Texts by: Alex Barbanti, Giulia Calì, Ilenia Carozza, Ilaria Chia, Laura Coppa, Annapaola Di Maio, Cristina Elia, Chiara Forconi, Federica Gamba, Alessandra Lisbona, Marida Mariano, Serena Mauro, Francesca Passerini, Leonardo Regano, Guicciardo Sassoli de’ Bianchi Strozzi, Ilaria Siboni, Sara Zugni. 2019-11-04T00:00:00+01:00 Copyright (c) 2019 Marinella Pigozzi